Jeux d’enfants

Comedy | Drama | Romance

Director: Yann Samuell

Writer: Yann Samuell

Premier: 29 August 2003

Length: 93 minutes

Cast:

Guillaume Canet Julien Janvier

Marion Cotillard Sophie Kowalsky

Trailer:

Plot: When two childhood friends can’t get separated, because they can’t stop playing a dangerous game, life gets really complicated.

Chit~Chat: “… Yet there’s one game you must never play. And I mean never! Even if your best buddy wants you to.  And that’s burying yourself in a block of cement!” and with these words an amazing movie is starting to unfold.

I haven’t seen many French films, but I liked their peculiar way of making a movie. The amount of colors they use, the way they form the story is refreshing and dazzling at the same time. Their language makes their movies so lyrical, so full of emotions. And when this colorful and mind-blowing way of film making pairs up with such a great story then you’ve got an amazing movie.

Sophie and Julien have a very interesting game, and they play it without stopping, till they are so old that the game gets a very harsh flavor. Their connection is so strong that they still love each other after ten years of separation, which is part of the game too.

The craziness of the game, the joy of life, the colors of the film, the acting of these two great actors makes this movie a masterpiece.

P.S.:

Rating: Wow, this was amazing…

4 responses to “Jeux d’enfants

  1. Hello. I was reading someone elses blog and saw you on their blogroll. Would you be interested in exchanging blog roll links? If so, feel free to email me.

    Thanks.

  2. Thanks to your high rating and the fact that the trailer looked excellent; I decided to watch this movie last night, but all I can say is that I can’t decide whether I liked it or not. The idea was awesome, the colorful setting was a breath of fresh air and it stroke some chords especially at the beginning and towards the end (not the end) but the main characters where totally crazy and no matter how I tried to understand them, I just couldn’t. The poetic idea of wanting their love to last eternally was the last stroke for me. At the beginning I had a totally different idea of the situation, and I still prefer mine to that of the movie. Still, it was an interesting movie, worth seeing so thanks for the recommendation.

    • You are welcome! I think the answer for you situation is simple: They are French. Because of this they have a whole different way of thinking, living and acting.

Vélemény, hozzászólás?

